10 movies to watch if you love Pride & Prejudice

0

[ad_1]

While Nicholas Sparks may have plenty of film adaptations of his popular romance novels, Jane Austen is a formidable rival with his romantic literary works. Austen’s novel of 1813, Pride and Prejudice, was adapted into a 2005 self-titled film. Pride and Prejudice is loved by fans of the novel and those who have not read his work.

RELATED: 10 TV Shows About Life As Royalty

With Valentine’s Day fast approaching, some may want to ditch the cheesy, cliché romance movies where there’s always a predictable twist. Romantic period dramas are full of forbidden love, romance, and happy endings. For fans looking for something similar to Pride and Prejudice, there are plenty of romantic period dramas to choose from.

ten Emma likes to meddle in other people’s love lives


Anya Taylor Joy plays Emma in Jane Austen's film adaptation

The movie 2020 Emma is an adaptation of the eponymous novel by Austen published in 1815. Emma marks Autumn De Wilde’s first feature film. Anya Taylor-Joy plays the lead role, a wealthy young woman named Emma Woodhouse, who lives in England in the early 1800s.

Emma loves matchmaking, especially when it comes to the love life of her friends and family. Although this hobby often gets him into trouble. Emma was nominated for Best Costume Design and Best Makeup and Hairstyling at the 93rd Academy Awards.

9 Jane Eyre is the faithful adaptation of Brontë


Jane Eyre film released in 2011

Jane Eyre is the 2011 film adaptation of Charlotte Brontë’s 1847 novel of the same title. Jane Eyre stars Mia Wasikowska in the lead role and Michael Fassbender as Edward Fairfax Rochester. Fassbender is recognized for his supervillain role as Magneto in X-Men: First Class.

RELATED: 10 Romantic Movies To Watch For Valentine’s Day

Jane is a young woman who faced several traumatic events throughout her childhood, such as the suicide of her cousin, John, and the cruel treatment of her Aunt Reed. Jane Eyre was nominated for Best Costume Design at the 84th Academy Awards.


8 You might recognize the Downton Abbey star from the Guernsey Literary And Potato Peel Pie Society


Guernsey Potato Pie Literary Society

The Literary and Potato Peeling Society of Guernsey is a 2018 historical drama based on Mary Ann Shaffer’s 2008 novel of the same title. Guernsey Literature is set shortly after the events of World War II in England and stars Lily James as a London-based author named Juliet Ashton. Dawsey Adams sends a letter to Juliette after finding a book with Juliette’s name. The couple develop a relationship through their passion for reading and Juliette visits his literary club.


seven Becoming Jane depicts the beginnings of Jane Austen


Movie Becoming Jane

Become Joan is a 2007 biographical film about Jane Austen’s early life and her lifelong love for Thomas Langlois Lefroy, although the romance writer never married. Become Joan is based on Jon Hunter Spence’s 2003 novel of the same title and stars Anne Hathaway as Jane Austen.

Other appearances include James McAvoy (known for his role as Professor Charles Xavier in X-Men: First Class) like his love, beloved Maggie Smith, and many other familiar faces. Become Joan was created from various facts uncovered by the production team about Austen’s life.


6 The 2019 version of Little Women is one of the best


Timothée Chalamet in Little Woman

The movie 2019 Little woman is the seventh attempt at a film adaptation of Louisa May Alcott’s eponymous 1868 novel. This version, along with the 1994 version, is considered many people’s favorite. Greta Gerwig, also known for the 2017 film Lady Bird, directed and written 2019 Little woman.

RELATED: 10 Modern Movies To Watch If You Like Princess Bride

Little woman features many dominating names in the acting industry, such as Saoirse Ronan as Jo March, Emma Watson as Meg March, and Florence Pugh as Amy March. Timotheé Chalamet also plays Théodore “Laurie” Laurence, the shared love interest of Little woman.


5 Atonement is another example of Knightley’s expertise


Atonement movie starring Keira Knightley

The 2007 movie Atonement is further proof that Keira Knightley is made for period pieces. The romantic war drama film also stars James McAvoy, Benedict Cumberbatch and Saoirse Ronan. Atonement is based on Ian McEwan’s 2001 novel with the same title. Atonement takes place over six decades, beginning shortly before World War II, and depicts the tragic story of Cecilia and Robbie. Atonement was nominated in seven categories at the 80th Academy Awards, but sadly only won Best Original Score.


4 Persuasion is directed by the director of Notting Hill


The film adaptation of Jane Austen's Persuasion

Persuasion is a 1995 television movie directed by Roger Michell. Michell is best known for achieving Notting Hill, the 1999 romantic comedy starring Julia Roberts and Hugh Grant. Persuasion is based on Austen’s 1817 novel with the same title and stars Amanda Root in the lead role of Anne Elliot.

Ciarán Hinds plays his long-lost love, Captain Frederick Wentworth, who returns from the war after Anne rejects his marriage proposal. Hinds is also recognized for his role as Aberforth Dumbledore, Albus’ younger brother, in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – part 2.




3 Love & Friendship Stars Pearl Harbor Actress


The Love and Friendship of Jane Austen

Love friendship is a 2016 period comedy film written and directed by Whit Stillman, known for his 1990 Oscar-nominated film, Metropolitan. Love friendship is based on Austen’s first novel, a series of documents titled Ms Susanna, written when Austen was a teenager.

RELATED: The 10 Most Iconic Disney Romances, Ranked

Love friendship stars Kate Beckinsale, also known for her appearance in the 2001 film Pearl Harbor, as recently widowed Lady Susan Vernon. Lady Susan Vernon is on a mission to find a wealthy husband for her and her daughter.


2 Mansfield Park differs greatly from the novel


Film adaptation of Jane Austen's Mansfield Park

mansfield park is a 1999 romantic comedy film written and directed by Patricia Rozema, based on Austen’s 1814 novel of the same title. mansfield park shares several key differences with the novel – it includes aspects of Austen’s life and goes into greater detail on the issue of slavery and West Indian plantations.

mansfield park also excludes some characters, introduces new ones for those familiar with the novel, and puts events in a different order. mansfield park features a young girl named Fanny Price, who is sent to live with her wealthy uncle and aunt since her parents can no longer afford it.


1 Sense And Sensibility Features Several Big Name Actors


Reason and Sensibility by Jane Austen

Sense and sensitivity is a 1995 period drama directed by Ang Lee, who is best known for directing Pi’s life and the 2003 Pontoon. Sense and sensitivity is based on Austen’s eponymous 1811 novel and stars Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet as sisters Elinor and Marianne Dashwood respectively. The Dashwood sisters are forced to marry due to their sudden state of poverty. The couple meet Hugh Grant and Alan Rickman on their mission to find worthy suitors. Sense and sensitivity was a huge hit and garnered seven Oscar nominations.

NEXT: Every Nicholas Sparks Movie Adaptation, Ranked

10 Most Misunderstood Anime Heroes, Ranked Featured Image


Following
10 Most Misunderstood Anime Heroes, Ranked


About the Author


[ad_2]
Source link

Share.

Comments are closed.