Andrea Davis Pinkney is the winner of the 2022 Kerlan Award


MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL (7/21/2022) – Andrea Davis Pinkney has been named the 2022 Kerlan Prize winner. The Kerlan Prize is awarded annually in recognition of outstanding achievement by an author or illustrator in the creation of children’s literature and for their generous contributions and support of the Kerlan Collection of Children’s Literature at the University of Minnesota Libraries.

The award presentation takes place on October 11, 2022 at the Andersen Library at the University of Minnesota, hosted by the Kerlan Friends Board of Trustees. Doors open at 5:30 a.m. This event will be broadcast live as part of the Rain Taxi Twin Cities Book Festival Week of Literary Events.

Pinkney is a New York Times bestselling author of numerous books for children and young adults, including picture books, novels, historical fiction and non-fiction. She is also a winner of the Coretta Scott King Award for writing about African-American culture. In addition to her work as an author, Pinkney has had an illustrious career as a publisher and editor of children’s books, including founding the first edition of African American children’s books at a major publishing house. edition: Jump at the Sun. She is currently vice president and editor of Scholastic Trade books.

“I am honored to be selected as the 2022 Kerlan Prize winner,” said Pinkney. “The Kerlan Collection is a dynamic archive of materials that invites an insider to explore how children’s books are made. The collection is one of inclusion, education and community, and I’m thrilled to be a part of it.

Pinkney joins the ranks of previous Kerlan Prize winners, including such literary luminaries as Minnesota’s Wanda Gag and Kate DiCamillo, Lois Lowry, Barbara Cooney and Tomie DePaola – all of whose works and, in many cases, drafts and production material, are contained in the University of Minnesota’s Kerlan collection.

About Andrea Davis Pinkney
Andrea Davis Pinkney is an award-winning author of over 50 books for children and young adults. Her work has won multiple Coretta Scott King Book Awards, the Boston Globe/Horn Book Honor, and the Parenting Publications Gold Medal, among other citations. She is a four-time NAACP Image Award nominee, recipient of the Regina Medal and Arbuthnot Honor Award. Additionally, Pinkney was inducted into the New York State Writers Hall of Fame. She and her work are the subject of the Emmy-nominated short, “Andrea Davis Pinkney: National Author Engagement.”

Pinkney is also the librettist of Houston Grand Opera’s The Snowy Day Opera, based on Ezra Jack Keats’ famous children’s picture book The Snowy Day. She has served on the creative teams for several theater and audio productions based on works for young people, including those from her acclaimed books, “Martin Rising: Requiem for a King,” “The Red Pencil,” and “Rhythm Ride: A journey through Motown sound.

About the Kerlan Collection of Children’s Literature
The Kerlan Collection at the University of Minnesota is one of the world’s largest archives of children’s literature. The collection contains rare books, manuscripts and original picture books by important creators for children and young adults.

The Kerlan is an open access collection. Anyone wishing to explore the records held at the University of Minnesota can do so by making an appointment prior to the scheduled visit. Contact staff at [email protected] Explore Kerlan’s online exhibitions and catalog at

Source link


Comments are closed.