Arundhati Roy receives the 2022 Saint-Louis Literary Prize: SLU



Saint Louis University Library Associates honored author Arundhati Roy with the 2022 Saint Louis Literary Award on Thursday.

Start slideshowAuthor Arundhati Roy, left, and Amber Johnson, Ph.D., acting vice president of DICE, talk about Roy’s writing process. Photo by Maggie Rotermund.

She received the award in a ceremony at Sheldon Concert Hall, which featured a conversation between Roy and Amber Johnson, Ph.D., acting vice president of diversity and innovative community engagement at Saint Louis.

Roy told the crowd that she was proud to receive the award and happy to be considered in the company of other St. Louis Literary Award winners, but she was thrilled to know that the award and its Campus Read program were seeking explore the work of honored authors. .

Roy is the author of the novel The God of Little Things, which received the 1997 Booker Prize and was named one of the New York Times’ Outstanding Books of the Year. Her second novel The Ministry of Greatest Happiness was named to Man Booker’s Long List in 2017 and was named a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Roy said his art allowed him to share his beliefs with the world.

“Writing is something I have to do,” Roy said. “For me, it’s something I do because I can’t do anything else.”

She noted that for her non-fiction writing, some have called her an intellectual terrorist and an angry, hysterical woman.

“I am not an angry woman; I am angry for a reason,” she said. “I have to shout things from the rooftops – whispering to my grandmother wouldn’t do anything.”

The event included a musical performance by Sebastian Buhts and a dance performance by SLU sophomore Samanvita Kasthuri.

Roy also participated in a Craft Talk on Friday, April 29, with Joya Uraizee, Ph.D., English teacher at SSaint Louis University.

Saint-Louis Literary Prize

The St. Louis Literary Prize is awarded annually by the Associates of St. Louis University Library and has become one of the nation’s top literary prizes. The award honors a writer who deepens our understanding of the human condition and broadens the scope of our compassion. Some of the most important writers of the 20th and 21st centuries have come to Saint Louis University to accept this honor, including Margaret Atwood, Salmon Rushdie, Eudora Welty, John Updike, Saul Bellow, August Wilson, Stephen Sondheim, and Tom Wolfe.

Associates of Saint Louis University Library

One of the oldest literary and cultural organizations in St. Louis, the Saint Louis University Library Associates seeks to establish a closer relationship between the University and the community and to promote an appreciation of the value of literature. The Library Associates strive to enhance the visibility of Saint Louis University Libraries and support the development of their world-class collections and services.

Source link


Comments are closed.