Distinctions: the dean of the civil service wins a literary prize


Members of the University of Virginia Law School community were recently recognized for their excellence. Among the distinctions, Annie Kim ’99, vice-dean of the public service, won the Library of Virginia Literary Prize 2021 for poetry in a virtual ceremony on October 16.

The prize rewards Kim’s poems in the book “Eros, Unbroken”, which explores the complicity between art, intimacy and violence between two musicians in 18th century Spain. Kim’s debut collection, “Into the Cyclorama” won the Michael Waters Poetry Prize, and “Eros, Unbroken” won the Washington Poetry Prize and was a finalist for the INDIES 2020 Foreword INDIES poetry book.

The Library of Virginia created its annual literary awards program in 1997 to honor Virginia writers and celebrate their contributions to the state and nation’s literary landscape, according to the organization’s website.

Kim heads the Mortimer Caplin Public Service Center and Law School’s Law and Public Service program.

Stevenson elected to FTAA Board of Directors

Professor Megan Stevenson was elected to the Board of Directors of the American Law and Economics Association, effective September 1. The association is dedicated to advancing the economic understanding of law and related areas of public policy and regulation.

Stevenson, an economist and criminal justice specialist, has conducted empirical research in various areas of criminal justice reform, including bail, algorithmic risk assessment, misdemeanor, and juvenile justice. His research on bail has been widely cited in a landmark federal civil rights decision, O’Donnell v. Harris, and received extensive media coverage.

The Women’s Bar Association recognizes Goluboff

The District of Columbia Women’s Bar Association honored Dean Risa Goluboff during her The stars of the bar event on September 22, during which Goluboff and other award winners spoke. This year’s theme was “Getting Back to Basics”, recognizing women for being the first in their respective roles. Goluboff became the first dean of the law school in 2016.

Student wins educational writing award

Third-year law student Chris Yarrell won the Education Law Association’s George Jay Joseph Writing Award in September for his article “Reviving Rationality and the Federal Role in Education.” The award recognizes an outstanding student manuscript addressing one or more legal issues in one of a variety of educational settings, including K-12 public and private schools and institutions of higher education, in particular current and emerging issues. It was recognized at the ELA conference in October.

Yarrell is a Virginia Public Service Fellow, a full tuition award awarded for the recipients’ academic excellence, leadership potential, and engagement in the public service immediately upon graduation.

Fore appointed member of the Center of Excellence in Teaching

Professor Jore Fore ’11 joined the AVU Center of Excellence in Teaching as 2021-22 Faculty member in July. Faculty members work alongside full-time center faculty to help support the centre’s core mission of improving teaching and learning at the University. Responsibilities include conducting educational consultations with other instructors, conducting workshops, developing resources, and supporting and developing programs.

Fore is Co-Director of the Law School’s Legal Research and Writing Program.

Shalf appointed to the Board of Directors of the Community Action Agency

Charlottesville City Council appointed Professor Sarah Shalf ’01 to the Monticello Area Community Action Agency Board of Directors on September 20. The goal of MACAA is to eradicate poverty, mainly through education. The agency manages Head Start and Early Head Start, and also manages programs to support low-income families and prospective first-generation students.

Shalf, who is the Director of Clinical Programs at the Faculty of Law and heads the Community Solutions Clinic, will advise and support the agency with respect to its programs, events, fundraising and policies.

Student thesis on recognized trustees

Third-year law student Christopher Benos received an honorable mention in the 2021 Mary Moers Wenig Student Writing Competition. “Guardians of Trusts as Trustees: Three Approaches and Beyond UDTA” examines the role protectors of trusts as trustees under various state approaches and suggests improvements to the Uniform Managed Trust Act. Nominations are judged by members of the Legal Education Committee of the American College of Trust and the Estate Counsel Foundation.

Students raise $ 3,306 for refugees

Students raised $ 3,306 through a bake sale and fundraiser Sept. 6-10 for the International Rescue Committee to help Afghan refugees resettled in the Charlottesville area. The Muslim Law Students Association has partnered with the Middle Eastern and North African Students Association, the American Constitution Society for Law and Policy, the International Refugee Assistance Program, and the National Lawyers Guild for fundraising.

Source link


Leave A Reply