Midland’s Patrick Dearen inducted into the Texas Literary Hall of Fame



Photo by Midland Reporter-Telegram

Midlander Patrick Dearen receives a book-shaped crystal award during his induction into the Texas Literary Hall of Fame on the TCU campus in Fort Worth on October 19. Dearen is flanked by Dean Sonja Watson, left, and Dean Tracy L. Hull, co-chairs of the Hall of Fame’s Board of Judges.

Dearen, a former Reporter-Telegram writer and author of 26 books, was one of seven inducted authors. The 66 room members include Elmer Kelton, Larry McMurtry, J. Frank Dobie, John Graves and Katherine Anne Porter. According to its website, the Hall was established in 2004 to “celebrate and encourage the state’s rich literary heritage by honoring its principal authors, whose original writing reflects enduring cultural relevance and artistic creativity.”

Source link


Comments are closed.