Tallahassee writers Alderson, Street and Zan win Royal Palm awards


The Florida Writers Association, Inc., announced that three authors from Tallahassee won the prestigious Royal Palm Literary Awards on October 16. Doug Alderson’s winning entry, “America’s Alligator: A Popular History of Our Most Celebrated Reptile” (Lyons Press, 2020), won the Gold Award for Published Non-Fiction.

MR Street’s manuscript “The Claddagh” won the Silver Prize for Unpublished Young Adult Fiction. He was also named third in the Unpublished Book of the Year competition.

Book review:Vietnam War veteran tries to reconstruct his life in Nancy Hartney’s debut novel | Book review

“American alligator”:Tallahassee writer Doug Alderson slips into alligator history with new book

MR Street

Suzan E. Zan’s collection of poems, “From Suffering to Salve: My Journey to Happiness” (Turtle Cove Press, 2021), was a finalist in the Catch-All General Publication category.

The awards were announced at the recent FWA Remote Awards Ceremony. This annual competition, which received 577 entries, was the 20th of the RPLA.

Suzan E. Zan

“Even in these difficult times, writers write – and wonderfully,” said Chris Coward, president of the RPLA. “And the RPLA team rose to the challenge.”

In total, the competition covered 27 adult genres and 5 youth genres, with published and unpublished entries considered separately. There were also four grand prizes.

  • Published Book of the Year: Tales from the Strange Canal, General Catch-All, by Barbara Rein
  • Unpublished Book of the Year: From Hell’s Heart, Thriller or Suspense, by Dana J. Summers
  • Best Children’s Book: Pling’s Party, picture book for children, by Arielle Haughee
  • The Candice Coghill Memorial Award for Best Youth Entry: “Ode to Rain”, unpublished poetry, 12 to 15 years old, by NM Collett

“We sincerely want all RPLA awards to help winners market their published manuscript or book. We also hope that the detailed comments from the judges, which all participants receive, will also be useful, ”said Coward.

Doug Alderson

“America’s Alligator was a fun and rewarding book to work on from start to finish,” Alderson said. “It has taken me in so many unexpected directions, from the shootout with Ma and Fred Barker near Ocala to the alleged living alligators in the White House. in new writing projects because I want to learn more about a particular topic.

The growing 1,600-member Florida Writers Association is a 501 (c) (6) nonprofit that supports established and emerging writers in the state. Membership is open to the public.

The Royal Palm Literary Awards Competition is a service of the Florida Writers Association created to recognize the excellence of the published and unpublished work of its members while providing objective and constructive written evaluations to all entrants.

For more information, visit the FWA website at floridawriters.org, where you can also find more information on the RPLA and the full list of 2021 winners.

Never miss a story: Subscribe to the Tallahassee Democrat using the link at the top of the page.

Source link


Leave A Reply